April Favourites

april favs

Hey guys, Its monthly favorites time again and I am so excited to show you what I absolutely loved this month.

 

New Look Cosmetics

I went into New Look the other day and discovered that they now have a cosmetic counter with New Looks own range of cosmetics. The range is called Pure Color and includes foundation, concealer, eye shadow, lipsticks, nail polish and so much more. I believe the range was launched at the end of 2014 but for whatever reason there are only now in the Limerick store.

IMG_6557[1]

I only bought two items so that I could review them, these were the Pure Color Nail polish in Black and the Pure Color matte lipstick in magenta.

Lipstick €4.99

I was really impressed with this lippy. The lipstick is really pigmented, matte and lasts really long. I ate and drank several times after putting it on and it stayed on.The packaging is also really impressive, it’s rare to find a lipstick in this price range that is in a box and packaged so well. I will definitely be buying some more of these very soon.

Nail Varnish €3.99

This nail varnish is meant to have a one coat formula so you should be able to get good color without adding another coat and this was definitely the case. All I needed was a base coat, one coat of this stuff and a top coat then I was good to go. Now this could be because it was black so I’ll get back to you about this when I purchase a few others. They have some pretty amazing matte, pastel and shimmery nail polishes and I cannot wait to try them.  I love how quickly this nail polish dries too.

New Look – Pure Dusk

I’ve seen these in store a few times but always walked past them. However my friends mom recently purchased the Lancome Vie Est Belle fragrance and I fell in love with it, so I decided to check reviews on it because I do that for almost everything ( Don’t judge me this fragrance is 100 bucks I have to be sure). It was while I was researching that I found a couple blog posts about dupes for this fragrance and one of them was New Look’s Pure Dusk. I picked it up earlier today and it is almost identical to the Lancome fragrance. I will probably still buy the Lancome one but this is the perfect dupe with a price difference of €83.01!

There are three other Pure fragrances. I also liked the Pure Blush and will purchase that one next.

Superdrug

I love Superdrug so much, it is like a second home to me (I spend too much time there). You will probably never see a favourites post on my blog that does not include purchases from Superdrug. I could go on about all the reasons why I love Superdrug but I’ll spare you and just go into my favorites of the month from there.

Barry M

Gelly nail paint – blueberry €4.99


I love Barry M nail polish and this one is now my favourite. It dries quick enough, very well pigmented and lasts long. It didn’t chip for a few days which is rare for me because I am a busy body who is always cleaning or touching something. This color is perfect for spring and summer.

Sunset Daylight Curing Nail paint €6.99

This is similar to the Sally Hansen Miracle gel polish. Basically you are meant to to purchase the color and top coat from this range and it’s supposed to last up to 14 days. Instructions say you are meant to let them cure in the sunlight to get that gel like effect. I did this twice but broke the rules and did it at night and it was pealing and chipping literally the next day. I would say ” bye Felicia” and never use it again but I did do it wrong . It’s on my favourites list because it’s a wonderful concept but I will have to get back to you on how good it is.This is drive me navy. I also got a free makeup bag and collection mascara with these. I LOVE SUPERDRUG.

Solat Perfecting Shimmer Oil( about €8) & Beverly Hills White Total Protection (about €3 on sale)

So the toothpaste is good. It does work but dont expect a dazzling white smile straight away. The results are subtle but you can definitely see them,especially when you apply the toothpaste, leave it on your teeth for a minute and then brush.

This body oil is amazing, it smells fantastic and leaves your skin glowing and feeling smooth. It is not a tanner but Is illuminating. It will be perfect for summer to give you that glowing but not oily look. Love it!!

NYC Sky Rise Lengthening Mascara


This mascara actually took me by surprise. I can’t remember how much it was but I’m sure it was not more than €5 but it was surprisingly really good.

Penny’s ( aka Primark)

I got this really cute white top with really cool lace detail at Penny’s for €5 and I love it. It’s so simple and chic but also really comfortable ,fantastic for hot days. I also got this gorgeous pastel necklace that is perfect for spring for just €4!


I bought a white blouse €9, jeggings €8, coral pumps €10 and this statement necklace for €5. A complete outfit for €31. Gotta love Penny’s !

White skinny jeans are in and up until recently I didn’t own any, so I got a pair in penny’s and couldn’t help but pick up a few pairs of jeggings while I was at it. All €8. Penny’s jeggings are so comfortable and look really good on us hourglass figured ladies, you guys know how hard it is to find jeans that fit right.

 Needed a new notebook and I got this super cute one in penny’s for €1.50. It may be cheap but it’s not flimsy. It’s pretty good quality.

I also got these two belts for €3. Thought they will be really cool on shorts, jeans and maxi skirts this summer.

I got these flats for €5 and they are really comfortable and the snake skin print is so cute.

Shaw’s 

NYX matte lipstick -Maison €7.89


In my March favourites post I mentioned that I had just discovered that it was possible to get NYX products at a store called Shaw’s in limerick. Last month I bought the same lipstick in Butter but I went back this month for Maison which is a brown with grey undertones. I know both colors are more fall/ winter shades but I’ve wanted both for a while now so I had to get them.

H&M  

Coachella Collection

April is coachella month and though I didn’t go to any concerts I did go out (clubbing) and I purchased this playsuit from H&M’s coachella collection. It was just €14.99. I really love the open back and lace detail. Lace is your friend this spring!

Other bits and pieces…


I got my nails done at Kala Nails in Limerick city. She is really professional and I absolutely love her work.I have put the link for her Facebook page so you can hit her up if you are in Limerick and need to get your nails done.

https://www.facebook.com/kala.limerick?fref=ts

Chi – Coconut water

I am loving Chi coconut water. Coconut water is often referred to as a natural isotonic drink. Not only is it good for skin and your immune system but it also aids in weight loss and is an excellent hangover cure. This is going to be really handy for re-hydration in  the warmer months too .

And a little something extra …


I recently found a really great excercise video on YouTube that is great for toning the body and it’s just 15 minutes of intense cardio. Try this and thank me later.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0hec67I04P8

That’s it guys those are my April favourites, if you have any questions please leave them in your comments. I love to hear from you so if you have some favourites that you would like me to try please let me know.

Xoxo

Julie

4 thoughts on “April Favourites

Leave a Reply

