Sitting Gym – 30 Minute Cardio… At Home

IMG_3224[1]

Hey ladies,

I’ll just jump straight into today’s post without beating about the bush. I hate exercise! I mean, I like being fit and like every girl I want to look good in a swimsuit in summer but lets face it,  some work needs to go into achieving that bikini body.

I have to confess I do have gym membership and despite that stupid direct debit coming out of my account each month I hardly ever go. There are several reasons for this but here are just a two, firstly I am busy most of the time and finish work after 8pm each day and secondly it’s cold in Ireland and I cannot bring myself to leave the comfort of my warm apartment to walk to the gym.

I recently decided to workout AT HOME for 30 minutes each day. I figure if I eat right and keep working the quick and easy steps below then I’ll be okay until summer when its warmer and I can get back to the gym.

So without further ado here is my Morning 30 Minute Workout …

IMG_3212[1]

Jumping rope helps you burn calories, tone your muscles and will increase cardiovascular fitness (what’s good for your heart is good for you).  I find jumping rope fun and relaxing so I can do it for hours but for this workout lets keep it at 5 minutes. 

IMG_3213[1]

Crunches strengthen your abs but a flat belly is not the only benefit of this. Core exercises like crunches help to improve posture and balance.

IMG_3214[1]

Jumping jacks are excellent for increasing muscle endurance and good for working out those calves. Jumping jacks also help increase your metabolic rate and burn calories.

IMG_3215[1]

Mountain Climbers help increase strength, flexibility and blood circulation.

IMG_3216[1]

Jumping squats build muscle in your whole body, burn fat and the best benefit of all… they help tone and shape your booty. Hello Kim Kardashian/Nicki Minaj assets. Side note: If you are, you know, constipated, this should help too… I know it’s gross but true! 

IMG_3217[1]

Strengthen your arms, chest, lower and upper back. Much easier than lifting weights I find.

IMG_3219[1]Also excellent for burning calories and toning your legs and arms.

7 Extra Minutes? You may have noticed already that there are 7 exercises here so I have Left out 7 extra minutes so that you can take a minute break between exercises.

Recovery Smoothie –  After all your hard work you’ll need some protein to recover so treat yourself to a smoothie. Here’s my favorite …

IMG_3012[1]

 Ingredients

  • Vanilla yogurt 
  • Strawberries
  • Kiwi
  • Banana
  • milk

Feel free to add in your protein powder if that’s what you usually do. I personally prefer using ingredients like milk, yoghurt, oats, coconut milk, almond butter and pumpkin seeds for protein. Keep a look out as I will post something on my smoothies and how I make them really soon.

As usual If you have any comments or contributions please comment below, I’d love to hear from you.

xoxo

Julie

3 thoughts on “Sitting Gym – 30 Minute Cardio… At Home

Leave a Reply

