Stop It. Period.

IMG_2817[1]

5 Things that Reduce Period Pain

I was going to start with something light and then get into the issue at hand here but I think I’ll just skip the BS and get  straight to it (I’m in that type of mood and if you read on you will see why).  Girls, I hate my period! Yes I know what you are thinking “nobody likes it Julie but it’s natural” which is a very valid point however I hate it because it disrupts my life in a major way and has done so for the last 10 years. Its a problem that I am only now learning to deal with.

Every time its ‘that time’ I get physically sick, skin gets pale, pupils dilate, I get a weird morning sickness like thing, I get terrible headaches and excruciating stomach, back and leg pains. Basically I cannot do anything and this lasts for EIGHT DAYS! In the past I  missed numerous occasions, classes and workdays and stayed in bed because of this and I am sure that a couple of you reading this post can relate.

It is for this reason that I set up a 5 step plan to making mensuration slightly tolerable. If followed correctly, this plan will help you stick it to mother nature and take control back of those miserable days. I’ve done this the last two months or so and though I cannot say i’m doing backflips I am much better than I was  before. So much so that this month I didn’t need to call in sick from work.

Step One – Eat Healthy… You  are what you eat.

IMG_2819[1]

Okay so this doesn’t just apply when you’re on your period but to your daily life, especially if you have severe period pain like myself. You need to change your lifestyle altogether. Eat more vegetables, fruits, nuts (if you’re not allergic in which case skip the nut thing) and whole grains.

Green veggies are rich in iron and vitamin B which you need a lot of during your period, it’s important that you make up for what’s lost during the cycle. Nuts are rich in omega 3 and are quite filling so they will keep you away from all that junk food. Wholegrain and fruit will insure a healthy digestive system and keep you regular.

Julie Likes….. I love pineapple juice( fresh 100%), Spinach, Kale, Avocado, celery and pumpkin seeds

Step Two – Hydrate…Water Is life.

IMG_2810[1]

Have you ever had a really bad hangover and you just wanted to die rather than go on feeling like you do. Well it’s important to note that a hangover is just your body being severely dehydrated. So while your period is bad enough on it’s own, imagine having it while also being stranded in the Sahara Desert.

Dehydration causes the body to create a hormone called vasopressin which causes severe cramps during periods. In order to avoid cramps drink lots of water before and during your period (just try to drink lots of water generally).

Tip. Throw some variety in there like Green tea, parsley tea and peppermint tea.

IMG_2812[1]

Herbal teas aid in flushing out all bad stuff which is always a positive (Nothing worse than that period acne). These teas also help get rid of cramps and bloating.

Julie Likes… My favorite is definitely peppermint tea with a dash of honey.

Step Three – Exercise… Move your body

IMG_1385[1]

I don’t have too much to say about this except I recommend some walking, dancing or yoga. You don’t have to go hard at it, light exercises during your period will help you get it all out (I think you see where I’m going with this).

 Step Four – Positions, underwear and Toys

You Dirty minded woman! Sorry to disappoint but there is nothing steamy here just some advise on how to make yourself more comfortable during your period.

Firstly don’t wear tight undergarments like spanx, these put a lot of pressure on the abdomen and cause cramps.

Don’t lay in the same position: switch it around. This will also help reduce cramps.

Your Toy? The Hot Water Bottle! This will be you best friend during periods. It relaxes your muscles and reduces cramps almost straight away. Heat pads can also do the same job but i’m old school and prefer the bottle.

IMG_2817[1]

Step Five – Drugs…

 When all else fails you can turn to the painkillers. Anti inflammatory painkillers like ibuprofen are really effective but cannot be taken by everyone (I am one of those people – I suffer from ulcers and gastritis and and this type of pain killer could worsen my condition.

Personally I take Anadin and Disprin (for really bad pain i may turn to a Solpadine  

IMG_2815[1]

Be careful with these and get advise from your doctor or pharmacist on how to take these.

Avoid

  • Alcohol
  • Coffee
  • Red Meat
  • Sweets

I hope that this helps somebody out there with their period troubles. Please leave your comments below if you have any advise, suggestions or contributions. I’d love to hear them.

xoxo

Julie

3 thoughts on “Stop It. Period.

Leave a Reply

