Coconut Oil – 5 Ways It will Change Your Life

coconut

About three months ago I was doing some researching on how to make my own body scrub and I found a couple of recipes online. Straight away I noticed that one particular ingredient kept coming up over and over again. What was it? You guessed it,  coconut oil.

Now I knew about coconut oil but had never used it before, after seeing it on all the scrub recipes I decided to check it out and find out more about coconut oil and its benefits. Of course at the time this was all in relation to the scrub I was making so I looked for skin benefits specifically. The next day I purchased the oil and a number of other items for my scrub and began to use it the very same day. Needless to say I could feel the difference in my skin after just one shower and so my curiosity about this ‘coconut oil’ grew. I found numerous uses for it and I must confess I have not yet been disappointed and can actually say I am now a coconut oil addict!

I can go on all day just explaining the reasons why I love it but for fear of overwhelming and boring you I have selected just 5 uses for you.

1. Teeth Whitening

You can restore your teeth to their natural white through a process known as oil pulling. Basically you take about one tablespoon of coconut oil (often in solid form but melts very quickly) and you swish it around in your mouth for 20 minutes. This not only improves the appearance of your teeth but can also improve your oral health as a whole because it contains natural antibiotic and antiviral properties that clean teeth and remove bacteria from the mouth that cause bad breath, gingivitis and tooth decay.

2. Detox

The oil pulling process is also wonderful for your general health as it allows you to get rid of bacteria in your mouth removing the toxins at source before they can spread( yay detox). Doing this daily can boost your immune system, clear skin and increase your energy levels

3. Hair

Coconut oil can be used before and after shampooing damaged hair because it is  rich in lauric acid it aids in strengthening hair. It also contains a fatty acids that that can be used as an anti dandruff agent and has been known to promote hair growth for many centuries.

4. Skin

Coconut oil is fantastic for skin, it can be as a moisturizer, night cream and in a body scrub. It contains vitamin E which helps to repair skin and keep it smooth. It also contains proteins that rejuvenate the skin which keeps you looking younger and has also been known to help with acne and other skin disorders.

5. Fooooood

Coconut oil is also said to be healthier than most other oils as it contains medium-chain triglycerides, which are used directly for energy by your body and don’t store up in the body. Side note – I think food cooked in coconut oil tastes better too!

All I can say is try it, I promise you wont regret it. If you know of any other uses please leave your comments below.

xoxo

Julie

15 thoughts on “Coconut Oil – 5 Ways It will Change Your Life

Leave a Reply

